Author Topic: AI following sloped runways in P3D  (Read 3583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline atco

  • AIG Dispatch Painter
  • Command Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 2811
  • Notepad Ninja
    • ATCO Repaints
AI following sloped runways in P3D
« on: July 12, 2019, 09:38:44 PM »
You guys should check this out and give it a test drive...

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/556989-ais-now-following-sloped-runways-in-p3d/

Also looks like he is planning a complete overhaul of the ATC/AI engine. Maybe worth reaching out to him as we have a significant level of expertise here.
Have not tested this myself but early reports in that thread seem very encouraging.
Vectors to nowhere, around nobody for no reason

Offline Er!k

  • AIG Dispatch Beta Tester
  • Command Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 2125
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2019, 05:33:39 AM »
Below 2 images of Frankfurt this morning with this new module:




Offline jhaley101

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 2125
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2019, 12:36:30 PM »
Wow, pretty cool!   I'm skeptical about the overhaul, but the pictures associated to the sloping runways is very encouraging.

JH

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2019, 10:11:35 PM »
Nice to meet you all.
We are developing this addon. In addition, we will be working on a whole ATC/AI overhaul.
I welcome your ideas on features.
Thanks
Federico

Offline johanfrc

  • Administrator
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 18324
    • JCAI
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2019, 11:30:06 PM »
Frederico. I've just sent you a long PM on avsim. Have a look at it.
Regards

Johan Clausen

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2019, 11:47:32 PM »
Thanks Johan.
It would be good if we can connect via Skype to go over all the info?
My ID is federico.sucari and I am in EST+1 time zone.
Thanks
Federico

Offline KampfHase

  • AIG Honored Members
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2578
    • Jetphotos
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2019, 11:09:11 AM »
Fantastic new feature!

There are sooooo many suggestions I'd have for future AI traffic improvements!

- the braking after landing on the runway not always 100% but aiming for the next best taxiway
- allowing departure traffic to enter a runway shortly after a landing aircraft touched down (and not waiting for it to leave the runway completely)
- better path finding for taxing aircraft. Some of them wait to hours for another aircraft to cross its path although they could easily continue before the other aircraft get near
- aircraft flying into mountains at departure or landing, not caring for terrain at all!

Oh yes and of course the well known landing seperations, runway usages and so on ::cheers::
« Last Edit: July 14, 2019, 11:10:51 AM by KampfHase »
My AFCAD reworks in this thread: click!
Airports by me: KCLT | KMIA | EDDM | KBOS | KMSP | KATL | RJBB | LTAI | LTFJ | LSZH | KEWR | RJTT | WSSS | KPDX | KTEB | KLAS | KLGA | KSFO
Next projects: KDEN | KORD

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2019, 11:51:33 AM »
Thanks for the information.
Can you point me to some BGL traffics files which describes these behaviors ?
For example, the AI Taxi waiting for landed AI to leave the runway or the taxi AI landed picking the optimized route ?
Thanks
Federico
« Last Edit: July 14, 2019, 11:59:43 AM by fs1 »

Offline KampfHase

  • AIG Honored Members
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2578
    • Jetphotos
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2019, 12:07:38 PM »
Thanks for the information.
Can you point me to some BGL traffics files which describes this behaviors ?
For example, the AI Taxi waiting for landed AI to leave the runway or the taxi AI landed picking the optimized route ?
Thanks
Federico

Every aircraft does this. When an aircraft is waiting at a runway for takeoff clearance and another one is landing on the same runway, it is allowed to enter the runway as soon as the landing aircraft has completely left the runway and has been handed off to ground ATC. In real life, when there is no other aircraft landing, the departing aircraft can enter the runway way earliers, when there is no more danger.

The problem with holding traffic on taxiways happens all the time at big airports. Lets take for example SFO airport. One aircraft is pushing back from gate C40 for departure. At the same time, another aircraft just touched down and want to go to gate C42. The first aircraft will hold right after pushback and waits an eternity for the other aircraft to get the C42. It would have enough time to taxi its way for departure, because the landed aircraft will not reach the gate in the next minutes, but it waits and waits.
This happens all the time at big airports, espacially at taxiways with no alternatives. As soon as an aircraft gets a path from ATC, this path is blocked for others. Even if it will take hours for it to clear it. This causes a lot of AI aircraft to disappear after a few minutes and is way beyond realistic.

For the runway braking, you can take ZRH main landing runway 14. All AI aircraft landing there brake at full power and then slowly taxi to the first taxiway in the distance. This takes minutes and causes a lot of go arounds.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2019, 12:09:39 PM by KampfHase »
My AFCAD reworks in this thread: click!
Airports by me: KCLT | KMIA | EDDM | KBOS | KMSP | KATL | RJBB | LTAI | LTFJ | LSZH | KEWR | RJTT | WSSS | KPDX | KTEB | KLAS | KLGA | KSFO
Next projects: KDEN | KORD

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2019, 12:24:53 PM »
Thanks for the detail explanation. I will take a look.
Does all these happens with default airports and traffic bgls? Can I try default KSFO or LSZH an see this ?
Thanks.
Federico

Offline KampfHase

  • AIG Honored Members
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2578
    • Jetphotos
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2019, 12:28:27 PM »
Thanks for the detail explanation. I will take a look.
Does all these happens with default airports and traffic bgls? Can I try default KSFO or LSZH an see this ?
Thanks.
Federico

Default airports - yes I guess. The route finding should be the same as with addon airports.

Default traffic - depends on what you are looking for. Default has only a few aircraft compared to our systems here with most if not all real world airlines installed. But yes, the situation at the runways (waiting for a clear runway, or 100% brake power) also affects default traffic.
My AFCAD reworks in this thread: click!
Airports by me: KCLT | KMIA | EDDM | KBOS | KMSP | KATL | RJBB | LTAI | LTFJ | LSZH | KEWR | RJTT | WSSS | KPDX | KTEB | KLAS | KLGA | KSFO
Next projects: KDEN | KORD

Offline Er!k

  • AIG Dispatch Beta Tester
  • Command Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 2125
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2019, 04:01:50 PM »
I am having an issue with this module combined with my QW787 and GSX pushback. Reported it at Avsim.com, QW forum and FSDT forum..

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2019, 06:24:30 PM »
Can you try to save a flight and load the QW 787 as a first user aircraft?

Offline Er!k

  • AIG Dispatch Beta Tester
  • Command Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 2125
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2019, 06:42:34 PM »
Can you try to save a flight and load the QW 787 as a first user aircraft?
Already did. Same issue unfortunately :(

Offline fs1

  • Prop 1st Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: AI following sloped runways in P3D
« Reply #14 on: July 14, 2019, 07:13:27 PM »
Ok thanks, somneone reported that if you turn off the AI this does not happen.
Is this correct? In this case the tug must be the one originating this issue?
In which moment does this exactly happens? Thanks