Author Topic: PrecipitFX  (Read 614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kenneth_brattey

  • Prop Captain
  • **
  • Posts: 54
PrecipitFX
« on: July 03, 2020, 12:53:05 PM »
Hi,

I use PrecipitFX whic installs replacement effects -contrail, touchdown etc.  The programme scans for AI aircraft and then updates the aircraft.cfg files accordingly.  However, it does not touch the AIGAIM - OCI\simobjects file.  I believe this might be due to that fact that there is no entry for this in the simobjects.cfg file.  I manually added this so that I could install the PrecipitFX files, which worked, then removed the entry again.  Can this be modified somehow so that I do no not need to make the simobjects entry live each time I want to update?

Thanks

Ken

Offline johanfrc

  • Administrator
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 20176
    • JCAI
Re: PrecipitFX
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2020, 01:29:23 PM »
Sadly no. Any changes you make to the aircraft.cfg will be removed every time you update something in AIM.
Regards

Johan Clausen

Offline kenneth_brattey

  • Prop Captain
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: PrecipitFX
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2020, 07:55:56 PM »
will it cause any problem is I keep the simobjects entry?

Offline johanfrc

  • Administrator
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 20176
    • JCAI
Re: PrecipitFX
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2020, 09:01:16 PM »
Don't think so. OCI works via a addon.xml file so it should not have any problems with simobjects.cfg. But Kai and Chris knows better if simobjects.cfg is used.
Regards

Johan Clausen

Offline Kaiii3

  • AIG Technic
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 6374
    • Kai's AFD Studio
Re: PrecipitFX
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2020, 05:10:33 AM »
DO NOT add any OCI path the the simobjects.cfg or scenery.cfg yourself!

Offline kenneth_brattey

  • Prop Captain
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: PrecipitFX
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2020, 07:39:15 AM »
Ok thanks for the info guys. I will carry on manually as required. 

 Brgds

Ken