Author Topic: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?  (Read 1198 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tom C.

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3768
fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« on: March 21, 2008, 12:22:06 PM »
Just about to get my EGLL AFCAD finished up but something keeps causing a CTD.

The error report says fe.dll, I've had similar before at EDDF but only certain times of the day, same at EGLL.

I'm fully convinced at this stage that its an odd texture somewhere on one of the AI models but can't for the life of me figure out which one.
Is there any utility that will scan and check the textures to make sure they're all good, or am I at the stage of removing all the traffic.bgl files one by one to see which it is?

I've done a scan with ACA2005 to no avail.

Thanks for any help on this.
Tom C.

 Veni,           Vidi,        Velcro  
I came,      I saw,    I stuck around...

Once upon a time AFCAD developer!

Offline Andy

  • Super K!
  • AIG Ops
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3648
  • Bear with a Sore Head
    • Flickr Photos by ME. :)
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2008, 07:44:04 PM »
Search your aircraft folder with windows *.bmp

Any matches that are an odd size, are your problem textures.

Hope that helps!
Live life for the accomplishments, not for the compliments.

My photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/Sud-Est/

Offline Tom C.

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3768
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 08:05:01 PM »
Think I might have found the offending texture.
Installing the traffic.bgl files one by one and starting FS each time was a pain in the a**e, but I got it eventually.
Turns out it was the Aeroflot A320 ev320afl.zip painted by Aleksey Lisitsyn, I think it might have been the 32bit texture as I always installed them for quality.
Not 100% sure if it was that particular one but all is well since I changed it to a newer repaint.

Thanks for the reply, where can I get this file you mentioned?
Tom C.

 Veni,           Vidi,        Velcro  
I came,      I saw,    I stuck around...

Once upon a time AFCAD developer!

Offline Andy

  • Super K!
  • AIG Ops
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3648
  • Bear with a Sore Head
    • Flickr Photos by ME. :)
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 08:49:56 PM »
Hehe, I meant, at a regular windows explorer search, search the aircraft folder in its entirety for BMP files by using the search term *.bmp

 :) That will bring up all odd textures in your installation, you just need to have a sharp eye to notice them.

I have noticed that sometimes 32-bit textures become incompatible with FS9, especially (for me) after saving them directly thru photoshop. I know that many others have had success saving 32's via Photoshop, but it's always something to be tested and watched out for.
Live life for the accomplishments, not for the compliments.

My photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/Sud-Est/

Offline Jerel

  • Administrator
  • Turbine Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 749
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2008, 03:17:12 AM »
I would also download Flightsim Manager (fsm285.zip) from Avsim and use the utility which will scan your aircraft folders for missing effect files (aircraft and scenery), duplicate textures, missing gauges, incorrect panel and sound aliases which will cause crashes.   You will have to adjust your system clock/time to 2006 as a problem exists which will prevent the program from running.  A nice feature allows you to export the problem areas that it finds to a html file so you can go through each one and correct the problems.

Also, run ACA2007lite and ACA2005 and ensure you do not have any missing aircraft which are in flightplans.

Any missing files will cause FS to continuously search for those files .. eating CPU cycles.

ScanAFD check for duplicate AFCADs will not only cause a crash but will screw up AI at the duplicate AFCAD2 airport.

**missing effect files are BIG.  when you download and install aircraft author(s) forget to update the aircraft.cfg files and if you do not check big problems.

Good luck!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2008, 03:23:39 AM by Jerel »

Offline Makadocias

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1128
  • Live every day like it's your last!
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2008, 10:22:34 AM »
I also have a really weird problem...

I just cannot load Indonesia's Jakarta WIII..  ???

When I do it loads and come's down to about 68% and it goes to a black screen and you'll have to restart FS9?!?!  >:(

It really has got to do with something with the scenery (DEFAULT even!) because I checked it with the traffic to 0%, I downloaded the WIII scenery and it can't be that either since it doesn't work without it as well...

Even when I start from the nearby field where they have a lot of Herc's and I come (really) close it suddenly stops and goes black and you'll have to resart...

I even downloaded the ASIA.CAB file's from the original FS9 disk but to no avail....

So if somebody has somekind of idea?!  :P

I'm just out of ideas and fortunately I don''t fly to much into WIII normally but I would like to when I feel like it!  :D

Happy Easter to everybody!


Upcoming flights: 09-03 AMS - GOA KL1563 # 11-03 GOA - AMS KL1564
Check out my video's at http://www.youtube.com/user/Makadocias/videos

Offline Jerel

  • Administrator
  • Turbine Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 749
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2008, 11:11:29 AM »
You might potentially have an AFCAD2 at an airport near WIII with a bad starting location.    I had a similiar problem with some AFCAD2's I installed for New Zealand.  I would go to NZAA and FS would crash.   I removed the 2 or 3 bad AFCAD2's which happened to be fictitious airports (helicopter pads) and it fixed the problem.

Offline Makadocias

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1128
  • Live every day like it's your last!
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2008, 04:23:44 PM »
Well, tried deleting all Indonesian Afcad's and still the same story....  :'(

The thing that shows up is UTIL.DLL that causes the error.  ???

So whatever that means I'd love to solve the problem.

Actually what's really weird is that I checked around with CTRL+W and checked a few planes at WIII and than again black screen.... while I still had a "sneak peek" at WIII but still it crashed!



Upcoming flights: 09-03 AMS - GOA KL1563 # 11-03 GOA - AMS KL1564
Check out my video's at http://www.youtube.com/user/Makadocias/videos

Offline DanielFall

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1147
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2008, 05:07:01 PM »
I had the same problem in Jakarta, and also a few other places in the area, like Brunei. What solved it for me was to put the autogen slider down one notch, to the second highest setting instead of the highest. Don't know what's causing the problem though..
Daniel Fall

Offline Makadocias

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1128
  • Live every day like it's your last!
Re: fe.dll, odd ball texture somewhere?
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2008, 10:59:45 PM »
Mate!!!!

You've been so right!

I still don't understand it but what you described has done the trick!

I now can look freely around at Jakarta's WIII  8)

Thanks a lot!!!  :)


Upcoming flights: 09-03 AMS - GOA KL1563 # 11-03 GOA - AMS KL1564
Check out my video's at http://www.youtube.com/user/Makadocias/videos