Author Topic: 757 Thomas Cook  (Read 2093 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline james solomon

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1278
757 Thomas Cook
« on: April 03, 2008, 10:37:36 AM »
i had tis question posed by my dad a few weeks ago about thomas cook are thinking of changing thier 757 to somthing similar with similar seating and range but its got to the point where its become frustraiting and i wonder if any of you could help me figure out this problem

Offline vc-10

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 2872
  • Fly Embraer Jets!
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2008, 10:47:55 AM »
What could they replace the 757s with? A321s don't have the range/payload, neither does the 737-900ER, and the 787 is far too big. More frequency with A320s?

Offline james solomon

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1278
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2008, 10:51:03 AM »
range on a320 i think is a problem when i asked my dad yet the 320 does have almost the same seating capacity but not the range i think

Offline M-Sauce

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3782
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 11:30:45 AM »
The only single isle airbus that could match the range would be the A319CJ. The min-buses are not known for their range, that is why none of them cross the small pond, yet the 75 does that regularly. The 321 would match the seating capacity, but couldn't come close on the range.

Unfortunately, the 757 is way more expensive to operate than the 737-900, and it competes in seat size, so boing said good-bye 75, hello 73-900ER. I still don't know if the 900ER matches the range, but it certainly matches the seating cap.

From a pilot's standpoint, I think the 900 packs about 27 to 29K of thrust, as opposed to the 75's nearly 40.

You can see why it is cheaper to operate a 737-900  :(

Mariano


ROG Rampage V Edition 10, Intel Core i7-6850K 4.6GHz (OC & Watercooled)
Corsair VLPX DDR4-3200 64GB , Samsung M2 960 PRO 2TB, SanDisk 1TBx2 (RAID 0)
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (2xSLI & Watercooled), Asus ROG PG348Q, TM HOTAS Warthog
Caselabs Merlin SM8, Corsair AX1500i, Win 10 Pro 64Bit, P3D Version 4

Offline snauffal

  • AIG Dispatch
  • Turbine Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2008, 01:06:29 PM »
The only single isle airbus that could match the range would be the A319CJ. The min-buses are not known for their range, that is why none of them cross the small pond, yet the 75 does that regularly. The 321 would match the seating capacity, but couldn't come close on the range.

Unfortunately, the 757 is way more expensive to operate than the 737-900, and it competes in seat size, so boing said good-bye 75, hello 73-900ER. I still don't know if the 900ER matches the range, but it certainly matches the seating cap.

From a pilot's standpoint, I think the 900 packs about 27 to 29K of thrust, as opposed to the 75's nearly 40.

You can see why it is cheaper to operate a 737-900  :(

Mariano




Air Canada did use A319 across the pond and so did Eurofly..

Offline Mosha

  • AIG Honored Members
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
  • AIG Dispatch La-Un, Ranong, Thailand.
    • Alpha India Group
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 01:24:57 PM »
Well what I do is set my fuel setting to unlimitted.  :D Sorry James I could not resist that one
Regards, Steve

"Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience."

Offline M-Sauce

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3782
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2008, 12:13:00 AM »
Yeah, I think Eurofly's are the CJ version, which comes with longer range tanks. I don't know what ACA used.

And what segment did ACA use...Gander to Rejkiavic??

Mariano
ROG Rampage V Edition 10, Intel Core i7-6850K 4.6GHz (OC & Watercooled)
Corsair VLPX DDR4-3200 64GB , Samsung M2 960 PRO 2TB, SanDisk 1TBx2 (RAID 0)
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (2xSLI & Watercooled), Asus ROG PG348Q, TM HOTAS Warthog
Caselabs Merlin SM8, Corsair AX1500i, Win 10 Pro 64Bit, P3D Version 4

Offline md11forever

  • AI Pirate. Yaaarr!
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 1851
  • I've moved on to FSX
    • My Photos on Flickr!
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2008, 01:22:42 AM »
Just to add- Privatair also flies the A319CJ across the pond to an assortment of US destinations. I used to see them all the time at ORD.
George Widener

Now Rockin' FSX via Alienware


Offline snauffal

  • AIG Dispatch
  • Turbine Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2008, 01:56:20 AM »
Air Canada flew (or flies) from a certain city in Canada that I just don't remember to LHR.

Offline atco

  • AIG Dispatch Painter
  • Command Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 2892
  • Notepad Ninja
    • ATCO Repaints
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2008, 03:04:22 AM »
Air Canada flew (or flies) from a certain city in Canada that I just don't remember to LHR.

St Johns (Newfoundland) to LHR

Its only 5.5/6 hours
and actually a shorter flight than YUL-YVR or BOS-LAX I believe.
Vectors to nowhere, around nobody for no reason

Offline vc-10

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 2872
  • Fly Embraer Jets!
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2008, 12:29:21 AM »
The busses could cross the pond, but they'd leave the baggage behind...but they weren't designed for it. I think that the charter carriers and the trans-Atlantic operators are going to have a hard time replacing the 757. The A320 can do most of the flights the charter airlines want (I believe) but with a much lower capacity. Perhaps more frequency?

Offline Capa

  • Turbine Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 589
  • Semper JBAI
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2008, 12:55:58 AM »
Just thinking out loud here, but wouldn't it make sense for airbus to make some sort of ER version of the a321? Add some extra fuel tanks (like in the acj/lr a319), and look into those new fancy GTF engines similar to those that bombardier intends to hang under the cseries?

If that were possible (I'm sure the toulouse boys must've looked into something like that) they would have a great replacement for the 75 in their catalogue. If you look at the order book for the a332 (their next model sizewize) it might make some sense, especially now that the seattle gang has nothing to really fill that gap. And with more and more single aisle planes doing transat flights..

I know there's a lot more to it than what I just described, but still, couldn't/shouldn't that be a path for airbus worth looking into? Unless they are holding all that stuff for the NSR off course. Just being an armchair plane builder :D
If the helpdesk thinks your question is stupid, we will set you on fire.

Offline M-Sauce

  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3782
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2008, 03:48:20 AM »
Just thinking out loud here, but wouldn't it make sense for airbus to make some sort of ER version of the a321? Add some extra fuel tanks (like in the acj/lr a319), and look into those new fancy GTF engines similar to those that bombardier intends to hang under the cseries?

Tere is a main difference between how Airbus and how Boeing builds aircraft. At least before Boeing's 787, and Airbus' 380, Airbus was always know for building an aircraft to set parameters, and then just barely reaching it or falling slightly short. Boeing was known for meeting and exceeding, the paramenters, therefore leaving room for "growth" models.

The A321 can't just add tanks because it is all about weight. Adding fuel would add weight that they would need to take out somewhere else, ie payload (not good). If Airbus wants to up the range of the 321 it would mean re-enforcing wings and gear, maybe even a new powerplant all together (unless they can hang the good ol' RB 211 on there). I just don't think that the A321 has the growth potential in it to become a 757 type replacement.

I think the only aircraft out there that can potentially replace it is the 737-900ER, hence Boeing discontinuing the 757 line. Don't want to compete with one-self I guess.  :)

Mariano
ROG Rampage V Edition 10, Intel Core i7-6850K 4.6GHz (OC & Watercooled)
Corsair VLPX DDR4-3200 64GB , Samsung M2 960 PRO 2TB, SanDisk 1TBx2 (RAID 0)
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (2xSLI & Watercooled), Asus ROG PG348Q, TM HOTAS Warthog
Caselabs Merlin SM8, Corsair AX1500i, Win 10 Pro 64Bit, P3D Version 4

Offline Mosha

  • AIG Honored Members
  • Command Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
  • AIG Dispatch La-Un, Ranong, Thailand.
    • Alpha India Group
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2008, 08:39:17 AM »
I remember the 2 times I  flew on an Airbus heavy. Lufthansa FRA-BKK-FRA. It felt ok one in the air, but the take off run felt to take forever compared with a 747. I am not a nervous flier, I love it, howver I found myself pulling on the arm rests. Almost like I was trying to pull the AC into the air.  ;D
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 10:03:32 AM by Mosha »
Regards, Steve

"Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience."

Offline Andy

  • Super K!
  • AIG Ops
  • Command Captain
  • *******
  • Posts: 3651
  • Bear with a Sore Head
    • Flickr Photos by ME. :)
Re: 757 Thomas Cook
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2008, 10:31:13 AM »
When I first saw the A319 at LHR I wondered how on earth that was possible  :o :o

I'm not sure if they dropped some seat capacity for that route. Either way, I wouldn't like to sit in a cram-packed '19 for 5 plus hours. Ouch!  ::evilgrin::
Live life for the accomplishments, not for the compliments.

My photos here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/Sud-Est/